PoliceLogo

Police FAQ’s

Where is the police department located?

The Arvin Police Department is located at:
200 Campus Drive
Arvin, CA 93203

Driving Directions:
Coming Eastbound on Bear Mountain Boulevard (SR223) turn left on Campus Drive, the police department is located directly behind McDonalds.

Coming Westbound on Bear Mountain Boulevard (SR223) turn Right on Campus Drive, the police department is located directly behind McDonalds.

What are the Hours of Operation for the Police Department?

The Arvin Police Department is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Administrative Business Hours: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday.
Records Bureau Hours: 8:00 am – 4:00 pm, Monday – Friday.
Property Room Hours:. Property is released by appointment only.

How do I obtain a Character Reference Letter?

Clearance letters cover only the Arvin Police Department jurisdiction. The fee is $20 per letter and may only be paid by cash. Call 661-854-5583) between the hours of 8:00am to 4:00 pm for more information. Allow five days for completion of the letter.

How do I get Fingerprinted?

Call 661-854-5583 to schedule an fingerprinting appointment. Live Scan fingerprinting fees are $10 for the rolling fee plus the DOJ/FBI fee which is typically between $32 and $93. We accept cash only at time of service.

How do I Deal With Fix-it Tickets?

If you were issued a ticket you can have the citation signed off at for a $10 sign-off fee.  Bring the citation and the vehicle to the Police Department. After the officer has signed off the citation, contact the court noted on your citation for fine information.

How Do I Request a Copy of a Police Report?

Traffic Collision reports are usually available 7-10 working days from the date the report was taken. All other reports are subject to release per 6254(F) of the Public Records Act. Call 661-854-5583 between the hours of 8:00am to 4:00pm for availability and cost.

How Do I Get My Vehicle Released?

The vehicle release fee is $35 (CASH ONLY). Contact the towing company for the towing and storage fee. Vehicle releases can be made only to the registered owner. Registered owners unable to appear in person must provide a notarized letter giving permission for you to retrieve the vehicle on their behalf. Call (661)854-5583 for more information.

If the vehicle is placed on a hold, you may schedule an in-person early release hearing with the Lieutenant or Administration Sergeant. This is not a guarantee that the vehicle will be released early.

All vehicles must have a current registration at time of release.

What Are The Victims’ Rights?

On November 4, 2008, the People of the State of California approved Proposition 9, the Victims’ Bill of Rights Act of 2008: Marsy’s Law. This measure amended the California Constitution to provide additional rights to victims. This card contains specific sections of the Victims’ Bill of Rights and resources. Crime victims may obtain additional information regarding Marsy’s Law and local Victim Witness Assistance Center information by contacting the Victims of Crime Resource Center at 1-800-Victims or 1-800-842-8467.

Victims’ Rights – Marsy’s Law

On November 4, 2008, the People of the State of California approved Proposition 9, the Victims’ Bill of Rights Act of 2008: Marsy’s Law. This measure amended the California Constitution to provide additional rights to victims. This card contains specific sections of the Victims’ Bill of Rights and resources. Crime victims may obtain additional information regarding Marsy’s Law and local Victim Witness Assistance Center information by contacting the Victims of Crime Resource Center at 1-800-Victims or 1-800-842-8467.

A ‘victim’ is defined under the California Constitution as, “a person who suffers direct or threatened physical, psychological, or financial harm as a result of the commission or attempted commission of a crime or delinquent act. The term ‘victim’ also includes the person’s spouse, parents, children, siblings, or guardian, and includes a lawful representative of a crime victim who is deceased, a minor, or physically or psychologically incapacitated.  The term “victim” does not include a person in custody for an offense, the accused, or a person whom the court finds would not act in the best interests of a minor victim.”

(Cal. Const., art. I, § 28(e).)

Local Resources and Support Groups
Your local Victim Witness Assistance Center can provide advocacy and specific information on local resources, the Victim Compensation Program, and support groups. To obtain information on the Victim Witness Assistance Center nearest to you contact:

  • Victims of Crime Resource Center
  • 1-800-VICTIMS or 1-800-842-8467

California Statewide and National Resources
The following are some of the resources available to victims and their families. This is not an exhaustive list. The Attorney General offers these references for informational purposes only.

Victim Compensation Program
Help for victims* of:

  • Assault
  • Drunk Driving
  • Sexual Assault
  • Child Abuse
  • Homicide
  • Vehicular Manslaughter
  • Domestic Violence
  • Robbery
  • Human Trafficking

What potentially can the Victim Compensation Program help pay for?

  • Medical and dental bills
  • Relocation
  • Mental health counseling
  • Crime scene cleanup
  • Funeral costs
  • Loss of income

Contact Information
For more information contact your local Victim Witness Assistance Center or:

* The definition of victim under the Victim Compensation Program may differ from the definition under the California Constitution.

Contact Information:

Arvin Police Department
PO Box 156
200 Campus Drive
Arvin, CA 93203
Phone: 661-854-5583
Fax: 661-854-0421